Who has to install one in Washington
| Your situation | Interlock | How long | Law |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mandatory suspension, revocation or denial for an alcohol-related offense | Required | Not stated | RCW 46.20.7202 |
| Deferred prosecution, pretrial release, interlock license or court order | Required | Not stated | RCW 46.20.7202 |
| Not previously restricted | Required | 1 year | RCW 46.20.7203 |
| One earlier restriction on record | Required | 5 years | RCW 46.20.7203 |
| Two earlier restrictions on record | Required | 10 years | RCW 46.20.7203 |
| Conviction under RCW 46.20.740 or 46.20.750 while restricted | Time added | 180 days added | RCW 46.20.7203 |
A judge can order an interlock in other cases too. Your court order or DMV letter is what binds you.
Where each company can install in Washington
You'll go back to the same company's locations for service for the whole order, so check that one is close to where you live and work before you book.
Locations as each company lists them on its own locator (Smart Start, Intoxalock, LifeSafer, Low Cost Interlock, RoadGuard), pulled Oct 2026. Some shops serve more than one company. Alcohol Detection Systems doesn't publish a locator we could read.
Interlock companies approved in Washington
Smart Start
Listed as “1A Smart Start”- In Washington
- 115 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 40 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,460–$1,510
- App rating
- 2.0 from 113 (App Store)
- In Washington
- 49 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 34 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,205–$1,355
- In Washington
- 40 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 37 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,427–$1,552
- App rating
- 1.7 from 899 (App Store)
RoadGuard
Listed as “Roadguard Interlock”- In Washington
- 18 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 28 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,273
- Simple Interlock
From the state's approved list (read it). Use a company on this list, or the install won't count. 12-month figures are lease, install and removal from each company's filed or published fee schedule, not Washington prices; see how we add them up.
How much an interlock costs in Washington
Estimated total for your order
Lease times the months you pick, plus install, removal and any enrollment fee, from each company's filed or published schedule (New York filing, Feb 2025; New York filing, 2021; New York filing, Feb 2021; New York filing, Apr 2025). Washington prices can differ; calibration visits and lockout fees come on top.
If you can't afford it
The Department of Licensing runs an indigent assistance program funded by the $21 fee, and that fee may be waived for indigence. The criteria for qualifying were not available to us.
Financial help in other statesThe rules in Washington
- Program run by
- The Washington State Patrol certifies manufacturers and service centers, and the Department of Licensing handles restrictions, your license and the indigent assistance program. The State Patrol says certification does not constitute endorsement of any manufacturer, service center or device.4
- Certified manufacturers
- The State Patrol interlock page lists these certified manufacturers: 1A Smart Start, LLC, Roadguard-Interlock, Intoxalock, LifeSafer and Simple Interlock LLC.5
- License you get
- The license is the ignition interlock driver's license. The base application fee is set under RCW 46.20.380 and is not stated on the statute page, and an additional $21 per month interlock fee applies.6
- State fees
- The Department of Licensing side is $21 per month per device, which funds records and indigent assistance. The State Patrol page lists a $10 installation fee and a $5 monthly monitoring fee, and lease costs are set by the manufacturer with no cap found.7
- Help paying
- The Department of Licensing runs an indigent assistance program funded by the $21 fee, and that fee may be waived for indigence. The criteria for qualifying were not available to us.8
- Getting it removed
- Removal is based on compliance. The vendor has to certify no violations for the 180 consecutive days before release, a certified technician has to inspect the device and find no tampering, and only a technician certified by the State Patrol can remove it.9
- Violations
- Counted violations include a start attempt at 0.04 or higher, a missed random test, a failed retest at 0.020 or higher, failing to appear for service, and removal by a non-certified technician. A conviction under RCW 46.20.740 or 46.20.750 extends the restriction by 180 days, and any violation in the final 180-day window defeats compliance-based removal.10
- Random retests
- The device asks for random retests, and a failed retest at 0.02 or higher is a violation. A 10-minute retest exception exists.11
- Camera
- Camera images are used to excuse or verify retests, and the State Patrol page refers to camera verification.12
- Driving for work
- Installation is not necessary on a vehicle owned, leased or rented by your employer that you drive at the employer's direction during working hours, with an employer declaration. It does not cover a vehicle assigned exclusively to you for commuting.13
- Out-of-state license
- The Department of Licensing may accept installation verification from a company authorized in your state of residence, and it may waive removal requirements that are impractical.14
Questions about interlocks in Washington
How long do you have to have an interlock in Washington?
The restriction is 1 year if you have not been restricted before, 5 years after a prior restriction under subsection (c)(i), and 10 years after one under (c)(ii). The time is tolled for any period you go without an installed device, for incidents on or after June 9, 2016, and a conviction under RCW 46.20.740 or 46.20.750 adds 180 days.3
How much does an ignition interlock cost in Washington?
The state side is $21 per month per device through the Department of Licensing, plus a $10 installation fee and a $5 monthly monitoring fee listed by the State Patrol. Lease costs are set by the manufacturer, and no cap on them was found, so that part of your bill varies with the vendor you choose.7
Is there help paying for an interlock in Washington?
Yes, the Department of Licensing runs an indigent assistance program funded by the $21 monthly fee, and that fee may be waived for indigence. The criteria for qualifying were not available to us, so contact the Department of Licensing to find out what it requires before you apply.8
How do you get an interlock removed in Washington?
Removal depends on how the last 180 days went. The vendor has to certify no violations for the 180 consecutive days before release, and a certified technician has to inspect the device at the end and find no tampering. Removal can only be done by a technician certified by the Washington State Patrol.9
What counts as an interlock violation in Washington?
Violations include a start attempt at 0.04 or higher, a missed random test, a failed retest at 0.020 or higher, failing to appear for service, and removal by a non-certified technician. Some have exceptions, such as a retest or a camera image. A conviction under RCW 46.20.740 or 46.20.750 extends the restriction by 180 days.10
Do you need an interlock in a work vehicle in Washington?
Not on a vehicle owned, leased or rented by your employer that you drive at the employer's direction during working hours, and the employer provides a declaration. The exception does not cover a vehicle assigned exclusively to you for commuting. If you are self-employed, it applies only to a vehicle used exclusively for employment.13
Related guides
InterlockCompare is independent and doesn't make, sell or install interlocks. Not legal advice.