Skip to content

Ignition interlock in Virginia

In Virginia, a court orders an interlock as a condition of a restricted license, and the DMV issues that license with the court's restrictions listed. The Commission on VASAP oversees the program, and local ASAPs monitor people who have one installed.

Checked Oct 23, 2026Sources
Required after a first conviction
First offense, to drive during the post-conviction suspension
yes
First offense, as a penalty or to get the license back
no
Repeat offense, as a penalty or to get the license back
yes
IIHS, October 20261

    77 locations in Virginia from the companies' own locators. Distances are straight-line; call to confirm the location services your device.

    Each dot is a service location listed by an interlock company. Orange rings mark your search.Company locators, Oct 2026

    Who has to install one in Virginia

    Your situationInterlockHow longLaw
    First offense under 18.2-266 clauses (i), (ii) or (iv), or under 18.2-266.1RequiredNot statedVa. Code 18.2-270.12
    First offense under 18.2-266 clauses (iii) or (v)Court decidesNot statedVa. Code 18.2-270.12
    Second or later offense under 18.2-266RequiredNot statedVa. Code 18.2-270.13
    Adult first offense, how long the order runs12 months12 months, or a 6 month minimum if the court orders it on motion with added restrictionsVa. Code 18.2-270.14

    A judge can order an interlock in other cases too. Your court order or DMV letter is what binds you.

    Where each company can install in Virginia

    You'll go back to the same company's locations for service for the whole order, so check that one is close to where you live and work before you book.

    Locations as each company lists them on its own locator (Smart Start, LifeSafer, RoadGuard), pulled Oct 2026. Some shops serve more than one company. Alcohol Detection Systems doesn't publish a locator we could read.

    Interlock companies approved in Virginia

    From the state's approved list (read it). Use a company on this list, or the install won't count. 12-month figures are lease, install and removal from each company's filed or published fee schedule, not Virginia prices; see how we add them up.

    How much an interlock costs in Virginia

    Estimated total for your order

    1. LifeSafer
    2. RoadGuard
    3. Smart Start

    Lease times the months you pick, plus install, removal and any enrollment fee, from each company's filed or published schedule (New York filing, Feb 2025; New York filing, 2021; New York filing, Apr 2025). Virginia prices can differ; calibration visits and lockout fees come on top.

    If you can't afford it

    Providers keep an indigency fund, and fees can be reduced if the court declares you indigent and the Commission approves the reduction.

    Financial help in other states

    The rules in Virginia

    Program run by
    The Commission on VASAP oversees Virginia's Ignition Interlock Program, local ASAPs monitor it, courts order the device, and the DMV issues your license.5
    License you get
    You receive a restricted license with an ignition interlock condition. The DMV issues it and lists the court's restrictions on it.6
    How long it lasts
    The clock stops after a court-issued restricted license expires and starts again once the DMV issues one, so the gap does not count toward your time.4
    State fees
    The court charges a $20 fee to cover court and administrative costs. Providers can charge you up to $65 for a standard installation and $95 plus taxes for monthly calibration or monitoring, and removal carries a $0 cap.7
    Approved providers
    Virginia lists three approved manufacturers and service providers: RoadGuard, LifeSafer and Smart Start. Each has certified devices, such as the XT Interlock from RoadGuard, the FC100 from LifeSafer and the 2030 from Smart Start.8
    Help paying
    Providers keep an indigency fund, and fees can be reduced if the court declares you indigent and the Commission approves the reduction.9
    Getting it removed
    Your provider needs written or electronic authorization from the ASAP before taking the device out, and you pay no removal fee. The provider then sends a removal report to the ASAP, which tells the DMV the requirement is complete.10
    Rolling retests
    The device asks for retests while you drive, set at 0.02. A failed or missed retest sounds the horn and flashes the lights.11
    Driving for work
    You can drive an employer-owned vehicle in the course of your employment only if the court expressly permits it at your employer's request. School vehicles, commercial motor vehicles and employers you control are excluded.12
    Violations
    Counted violations include not following the program, such as missing monitoring or calibration due at least every 30 days, and tampering or circumventing the device. The court may revoke your driving privilege unless there is good cause, and circumvention is a Class 1 misdemeanor.13

    Questions about interlocks in Virginia

    How long do you have to have an interlock in Virginia?

    The general rule is at least 12 consecutive months without alcohol-related violations, and no longer than the restriction period. For an adult first offense the term is 12 months, and the court may on motion require a minimum of 6 consecutive months if added restrictions apply. The time is tolled between a court-issued restricted license expiring and the DMV issuing one.4

    How much does an ignition interlock cost in Virginia?

    The court charges a $20 fee for court and administrative costs. Providers can charge you up to $65 for a standard installation, $95 plus taxes for monthly calibration or monitoring, $50 for a service call plus mileage, and $50 for a violation reset. Removal has a $0 cap. These are maximums, so your actual bill may be lower.7

    Is there help paying for an interlock in Virginia?

    Possibly. Providers maintain an indigency fund, and your fees can be reduced if the court declares you indigent and the Commission on VASAP approves the reduction. Because the court has to make that declaration, it makes sense to raise the question with the court before or at your hearing.9

    How do you get an interlock removed in Virginia?

    Your provider has to receive written or electronic authorization from your ASAP before removing the device, and you owe no removal fee. The provider sends a removal report to the ASAP, which notifies the DMV that you finished. You cannot switch manufacturers without the Commission's authorization.10

    What happens if you violate your interlock requirement in Virginia?

    The court may revoke your driving privilege unless there is good cause. Violations include not following the program, such as missing monitoring or calibration due at least every 30 days, and tampering with or circumventing the device. Circumvention is a Class 1 misdemeanor, so a missed appointment and tampering carry very different risks.13

    Can you drive a work vehicle with an interlock in Virginia?

    Only if the court expressly permits it at your employer's request, and only in the course of your employment. The exception covers employer-owned vehicles and excludes school vehicles, commercial motor vehicles and employers you control. Without that court permission, the interlock requirement applies to the vehicles you own or have registered.12

    Related guides

    InterlockCompare is independent and doesn't make, sell or install interlocks. Not legal advice.

    Sources

    1. Virginia: first offense, post-conviction suspension: yesiihs.org/research-areas/alcohol-and-drugs/alcohol-interlock-laws-by-state
    2. may, for a first offense,law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title18.2/chapter7/section18.2-270.1
    3. a second or subsequent offenselaw.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title18.2/chapter7/section18.2-270.1
    4. not less than 12 consecutive monthslaw.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title18.2/chapter7/section18.2-270.1
    5. the Commission on VASAP is responsible for oversight of Virginia's Ignition Interlock Programvasap.virginia.gov/ourmission
    6. The Department issues it and must list the court's restrictions (D)law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title18.2/chapter7/section18.2-270.1
    7. $95 plus applicable taxes for monthly ignition interlock calibrations or monitoringlaw.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title24/agency35/chapter60/section50
    8. Approved Manufacturers/Service Providers Certified Devices (heading, RoadGuard / LifeSafer / Smart Start)vasap.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/Certified-Devices-2026.pdf
    9. a reduction in fees based upon a declaration of indigency by the court and approval by the commissionlaw.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title24/agency35/chapter60/section50
    10. the service provider must receive written or electronic authorization from the ASAPlaw.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title24/agency35/chapter60/section100
    11. triggers the sounding of the horn and flashing of lightslaw.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title18.2/chapter7/section18.2-270.1
    12. solely in the course of his employmentlaw.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title18.2/chapter7/section18.2-270.1
    13. A violation of this subsection is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor.law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title18.2/chapter7/section18.2-270.1