Who has to install one in Tennessee
| Your situation | Interlock | How long | Law |
|---|---|---|---|
| First DUI, BAC 0.08% or higher, or alcohol plus drugs | Required | Not stated | T.C.A. 55-10-425 (eff. Jan 1, 2023; 'Lexis' printout hosted by TN Dept. of Safety)2 |
| First DUI with a child under 18 in the vehicle or an accident | Required | Not stated | T.C.A. 55-10-425 (eff. Jan 1, 2023; 'Lexis' printout hosted by TN Dept. of Safety)2 |
| First DUI, none of those factors apply | Court decides | Not stated | T.C.A. 55-10-425 (eff. Jan 1, 2023; 'Lexis' printout hosted by TN Dept. of Safety)2 |
| First DUI, court makes no findings on the department form | Required by default | Not stated | T.C.A. 55-10-425 (eff. Jan 1, 2023; 'Lexis' printout hosted by TN Dept. of Safety)2 |
| Second DUI, driving on a restricted license | Required | Entire 2-year revocation | safetysupport.tn.gov3 |
| Third DUI, driving on a restricted license | Required | Entire 6-year revocation | safetysupport.tn.gov3 |
A judge can order an interlock in other cases too. Your court order or DMV letter is what binds you.
Where each company can install in Tennessee
You'll go back to the same company's locations for service for the whole order, so check that one is close to where you live and work before you book.
Locations as each company lists them on its own locator (Smart Start, Intoxalock, LifeSafer, RoadGuard), pulled Oct 2026. Some shops serve more than one company. Alcohol Detection Systems doesn't publish a locator we could read.
Interlock companies approved in Tennessee
- In Tennessee
- 92 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 40 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,460–$1,510
- App rating
- 2.0 from 113 (App Store)
- In Tennessee
- 57 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 37 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,427–$1,552
- App rating
- 1.7 from 899 (App Store)
- In Tennessee
- 50 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 34 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,205–$1,355
RoadGuard
Listed as “RoadGuard Interlock”- In Tennessee
- 12 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 28 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,273
- Nationwide
- On 28 of 44 state lists
- Simple Interlock
From the state's approved list (read it). Use a company on this list, or the install won't count. 12-month figures are lease, install and removal from each company's filed or published fee schedule, not Tennessee prices; see how we add them up.
How much an interlock costs in Tennessee
Estimated total for your order
Lease times the months you pick, plus install, removal and any enrollment fee, from each company's filed or published schedule (New York filing, Feb 2025; New York filing, 2021; New York filing, Feb 2021; New York filing, Apr 2025). Tennessee prices can differ; calibration visits and lockout fees come on top.
If you can't afford it
If a court finds you indigent, a manufacturer cannot refuse you service as long as money is available in the Electronic Monitoring Indigency Fund, which the Tennessee Dept. of Treasury administers.
Financial help in other statesThe rules in Tennessee
- Program run by
- The Tennessee Dept. of Safety and Homeland Security runs the Ignition Interlock Program. Its manufacturer page lists six approved manufacturers accepting new customers.4
- Approved manufacturers
- The six approved manufacturers are Alcohol Detection Systems, Intoxalock, LifeSafer, RoadGuard Interlock, Simple Interlock and Smart Start. The state's list was last updated August 11, 2026.5
- License you get
- You drive on a restricted driver license with an ignition interlock restriction. A license without the restriction comes from a Driver Services Center once you finish the program.6
- How long
- The usage period is 365 consecutive days or the entire revocation, whichever is longer. Removal also requires the final 120 consecutive days to be violation-free.7
- State fees
- The state charges a $12.50 administrative fee per new user at installation and again each year, which the manufacturer collects and passes along. Caps on manufacturer charges include $75 an hour for installation (up to 3 hours), $125 a month for lease, monitoring and maintenance, and $75 for removal.8
- Help paying
- If a court finds you indigent, a manufacturer cannot refuse you service as long as money is available in the Electronic Monitoring Indigency Fund, which the Tennessee Dept. of Treasury administers.9
- What the fund covers
- Treasury can pay for installation, lease, maintenance and removal through the Electronic Monitoring Indigency Fund. The court paperwork is the Uniform Affidavit of Indigency.10
- Getting it removed
- After 365 days and the final 120 violation-free days, the manufacturer runs a compliance review and sends a Certificate of Compliance to the state. Once the state approves, you pick up an unrestricted license at a Driver Services Center and give a copy to the manufacturer to schedule removal, so the device stays in until you have that license.11
- Violations
- Violations include removing the device early, going 30 days without service, tampering or circumvention, a start attempt above .020 BrAC, a failed random retest above .020 and a skipped retest. Removal or tampering can restart the 365-day clock, and a photo-confirmed high-BrAC or missed-test violation in the final 120 days can add 120 days. A dispute process exists.12
- Random retests
- The device asks for random retests while you drive. A BrAC above 0.02% or a skipped retest counts as a violation.13
- Camera
- State rules define a camera feature on the device. Violations have to be confirmed by photo before they can lead to a 120-day extension.14
- Driving for work
- State law makes no exception for commercial vehicles or motorcycles. The device may go in a non-commercial company vehicle if your employer agrees.15
Questions about interlocks in Tennessee
How long do you have to have an interlock in Tennessee?
At least 365 consecutive days or the entire revocation period, whichever is longer. Revocation runs 1 year for a first DUI, 2 years for a second, 6 years for a third and 8 years for a fourth or later. Before the device comes out, the final 120 consecutive days also have to be free of violations.7
How much does an ignition interlock cost in Tennessee?
Tennessee caps what manufacturers can charge: $75 an hour for installation (up to 3 hours), $125 a month for leasing, monitoring and maintenance, and $75 for removal. The state also adds a $12.50 administrative fee at installation and each year. A permanent lockout reset is capped at $50 and a temporary lockout code at $25.8
Can you get help paying for an interlock in Tennessee?
Possibly. If a court finds you indigent, a manufacturer cannot refuse you service as long as money is available in the Electronic Monitoring Indigency Fund. The Tennessee Dept. of Treasury administers that fund, and the indigency finding comes from the court, so the process starts with your case.9
How do you get an interlock removed in Tennessee?
Removal depends on compliance. After 365 days and the final 120 violation-free days, the manufacturer reviews your record and sends a Certificate of Compliance to the state. Once approved, you get an unrestricted license at a Driver Services Center and give the manufacturer a copy to schedule removal. Keep the device in until you have that license.11
What happens if you fail a test or violate the interlock rules in Tennessee?
It depends on the violation. Removing the device or tampering can restart the 365-day clock. A photo-confirmed start attempt or random retest above .020, or a skipped retest, in the final 120 days can extend the requirement by 120 days. A dispute process exists if you think a violation was recorded wrongly.12
Can you drive a work vehicle with an interlock in Tennessee?
The device can go in a non-commercial company vehicle if your employer agrees. Tennessee law allows no exceptions for commercial vehicles or motorcycles, so those do not get relief from the interlock requirement. Talk with your employer before installation if you drive a company vehicle.15
Related guides
InterlockCompare is independent and doesn't make, sell or install interlocks. Not legal advice.