Who has to install one in Maryland
| Your situation | Interlock | How long | Law |
|---|---|---|---|
| DUI or DWI conviction, or probation before judgment | Required | Not stated | mva.maryland.gov2 |
| Eligible driver who prefers an interlock to a suspension | Optional | Not stated | mva.maryland.gov2 |
| Test result BAC 0.08 to under 0.15 | Length set by BAC | 180 days | mva.maryland.gov3 |
| Test result BAC 0.15 or higher | Length set by BAC | 1 year | mva.maryland.gov3 |
| Refused a breath or chemical test | Required | 1 year | mva.maryland.gov4 |
| Second or third interlock requirement | Longer each time | 1 year (2nd), 3 years (3rd+) | Md. Code, Transportation 16-404.15 |
A judge can order an interlock in other cases too. Your court order or DMV letter is what binds you.
Where each company can install in Maryland
You'll go back to the same company's locations for service for the whole order, so check that one is close to where you live and work before you book.
Locations as each company lists them on its own locator (Smart Start, Intoxalock, LifeSafer, Low Cost Interlock, Guardian, RoadGuard), pulled Oct 2026. Some shops serve more than one company. Alcohol Detection Systems doesn't publish a locator we could read.
Interlock companies approved in Maryland
- In Maryland
- 152 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 40 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,460–$1,510
- App rating
- 2.0 from 113 (App Store)
- In Maryland
- 112 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 34 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,205–$1,355
- In Maryland
- 68 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 37 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,427–$1,552
- App rating
- 1.7 from 899 (App Store)
Guardian
Listed as “Guardian Interlock”- In Maryland
- 30 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 16 of 44 state lists
RoadGuard
Listed as “RoadGuard Interlock”- In Maryland
- 22 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 28 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,273
- Nationwide
- On 28 of 44 state lists
- Nationwide
- On 7 of 44 state lists
From the state's approved list (read it). Use a company on this list, or the install won't count. 12-month figures are lease, install and removal from each company's filed or published fee schedule, not Maryland prices; see how we add them up.
How much an interlock costs in Maryland
Estimated total for your order
Lease times the months you pick, plus install, removal and any enrollment fee, from each company's filed or published schedule (New York filing, Feb 2025; New York filing, 2021; New York filing, Feb 2021; New York filing, Apr 2025). Maryland prices can differ; calibration visits and lockout fees come on top.
If you can't afford it
If you are on assistance, approved providers must offer 50% off their rental rates, and the $47 enrollment fee can be waived.
Financial help in other statesThe rules in Maryland
- Program run by
- The Maryland MVA runs the Ignition Interlock Program through its Driver Wellness & Safety unit. Enrollment goes through the MVA, so that is the office to contact with questions about your case.6
- License you get
- You drive on an Interlock Restricted License, which carries code J. Ask for it by that name when you enroll.6
- State fees
- The MVA lists a $47 enrollment fee, and it can be waived. State law says the program fee is set to cover the cost of the program and is waived for indigent individuals.7
- Help paying
- If you are on assistance, approved providers must offer 50% off their rental rates, and the $47 enrollment fee can be waived.8
- Who qualifies
- The MVA may waive the enrollment fee for people on medical or food assistance.9
- Waiver form
- The waiver request is Form DC-212, the Ignition Interlock Participation Fee Waiver Application, which you can find at mva.maryland.gov/media/190.10
- Choosing a provider
- Maryland approves six providers: Alcohol Detection Systems, RoadGuard Interlock, Guardian Interlock / LifeSafer, Intoxalock, Sens-O-Lock and Smart Start. All of them install within 10 days of your request and offer 24-hour emergency support.11
- Getting it removed
- When you finish your required time, including any extensions, the device's final data is downloaded and the MVA reviews it. If there are no violations you receive a completion letter, which you take to an MVA office to remove the restriction, and only then is the device taken out. Form AJ-013 proves installation and does not prove removal.12
- Violations
- Each month with a violation can add 30 days, and some violations in the last 3 months can add 90 days. Serious violations can lead to removal from the program, and coming back after a 30-day suspension means serving the full original time.13
- Camera
- The device has a camera, and the footage is reviewed to confirm that the enrolled driver is the one driving.14
- Random retests
- The device asks for random retests while you drive, and you do not need to pull over to take one.15
- Out-of-state license
- Maryland law applies if you are stopped in Maryland, and convictions are reported to your home state.16
Questions about interlocks in Maryland
How long do you have to have an interlock in Maryland?
It depends on your test result and your history. A BAC from 0.08 to under 0.15 means 180 days, a BAC of 0.15 or higher means 1 year, and refusing a test means 1 year. State law also sets 6 months, 1 year or 3 years for a first, second or third requirement.3
How much does an interlock cost in Maryland?
The MVA lists a $47 enrollment fee, which can be waived. State law says the program fee is meant to cover the cost of running the program and is waived for indigent individuals. The amount of the restricted-license fee is not on the MVA page, so ask the MVA when you enroll.7
Is there help paying for an ignition interlock in Maryland?
Yes, if you are on assistance. Approved providers must offer 50% off their rental rates for people on assistance, and the MVA can waive the $47 enrollment fee. The MVA may waive that fee for people on medical or food assistance, so bring proof of the benefit you receive.8
How do you get an interlock removed in Maryland?
You finish your required time, including any extensions, and the MVA reviews the final data download. With no violations you receive a completion letter. Take that letter to an MVA office to remove the restriction from your license, and after that the device can be taken out of your vehicle.12
What happens if you violate your interlock rules in Maryland?
Each month with a violation can add 30 days to your time, and some violations in the last 3 months can add 90 days. Missed monthly service, unpaid fees, tampering and a skipped or failed retest all count. Serious violations can lead to removal, and re-entry after a 30-day suspension means the full original time.13
Does a Maryland interlock have a camera?
Yes. The device is camera-enabled, and the footage is reviewed to confirm that the enrolled driver is the person driving. The device also asks for random retests while you drive, and you do not need to pull over to take one, so it can ask for a test during a normal trip.14
Related guides
InterlockCompare is independent and doesn't make, sell or install interlocks. Not legal advice.