Who has to install one in Idaho
| Your situation | Interlock | How long | Law |
|---|---|---|---|
| First DUI (BAC 0.08 or higher) | Required | 1 year after suspension ends | Idaho Code 18-8005(1)(e),(4)(f),(6)(e)2 |
| Second or further violation within 10 years | Required | Not stated | Idaho Code 18-8005(1)(e),(4)(f),(6)(e)3 |
| Refusing the breath or blood test | Court orders it | 1 year after suspension ends | Idaho Code 18-8002(3),(4),(12),(13)4 |
| 90-day administrative license suspension (ALS) | Required per ITD | 1 year, starting 10 days after the 90-day suspension ends | Idaho Code 18-8005(1)(e),(4)(f),(6)(e)2 |
| You want the court to lift the requirement | Court decides | Not stated | Idaho Code 18-8002(3),(4),(12),(13)5 |
A judge can order an interlock in other cases too. Your court order or DMV letter is what binds you.
Where each company can install in Idaho
You'll go back to the same company's locations for service for the whole order, so check that one is close to where you live and work before you book.
LifeSafer
15 locations
Low Cost Interlock
14 locations
Guardian
9 locations
Smart Start
7 locations
RoadGuard
4 locationsLocations as each company lists them on its own locator (Smart Start, Intoxalock, LifeSafer, Low Cost Interlock, Guardian, RoadGuard), pulled Oct 2026. Some shops serve more than one company. Alcohol Detection Systems doesn't publish a locator we could read.
Interlock companies approved in Idaho
- In Idaho
- 24 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 37 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,427–$1,552
- App rating
- 1.7 from 899 (App Store)
- In Idaho
- 15 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 34 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,205–$1,355
- In Idaho
- 14 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 19 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,215–$1,365
- App rating
- 1.4 from 11 (App Store)
Guardian
Listed as “Guardian Interlock”- In Idaho
- 9 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 16 of 44 state lists
- In Idaho
- 7 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 40 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,460–$1,510
- App rating
- 2.0 from 113 (App Store)
RoadGuard
Listed as “RoadGuard Interlock”- In Idaho
- 4 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 28 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,273
- Nationwide
- On 28 of 44 state lists
- B.E.S.T. Labs
From the state's approved list (read it). Use a company on this list, or the install won't count. 12-month figures are lease, install and removal from each company's filed or published fee schedule, not Idaho prices; see how we add them up.
How much an interlock costs in Idaho
Estimated total for your order
Lease times the months you pick, plus install, removal and any enrollment fee, from each company's filed or published schedule (New York filing, Feb 2025; National schedule, Sept 2026; New York filing, 2021; New York filing, Feb 2021; New York filing, Apr 2025). Idaho prices can differ; calibration visits and lockout fees come on top.
If you can't afford it
A court may let you use the court interlock and electronic monitoring fund, and the judge makes that decision.
Financial help in other statesThe rules in Idaho
- Program run by
- ITD Driver Services certifies interlock manufacturers, and courts are the ones who order the device. ITD does not install interlocks, recommend a company or point you to an installation center.6
- First DUI timing
- After a first DUI at 0.08 BAC, the interlock runs for 1 year after your absolute suspension ends, and it is installed within 10 days after the suspension ends.2
- Repeat violations
- After a second or further violation within 10 years and a 1-year mandatory suspension, you may drive only a vehicle with a working interlock. The sources we reviewed do not state how long that lasts.3
- License you get
- You may qualify for a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) through ITD after the first 30 days, and the interlock is a condition of that permit.7
- State fees
- The RDP application costs $60 (ITD form 3227). Reinstatement costs $245 after an ALS suspension and $285 after a DUI suspension.8
- Certified companies
- ITD has certified eight manufacturers: Smart Start, Draeger US Interlock, Lifesafer Interlock, Guardian Interlock System, Low Cost Interlock, Alcohol Detection Systems, Intoxalock and B.E.S.T. Labs.9
- Company list date
- The ITD list of certified manufacturers we reviewed is marked effective 4/2024, so check ITD for any newer version.10
- Help paying
- A court may let you use the court interlock and electronic monitoring fund, and the judge makes that decision.11
- Who qualifies for help
- The fund is based on a court finding of financial hardship, so the court needs evidence of your situation.12
- Getting it removed
- You work with your interlock provider to remove the device, for example when you sell a vehicle. The restriction period ends 1 year from the provider's proof of installation.13
- Getting out of it
- A court may relieve you of the interlock if you make a clear and convincing showing. Financial hardship alone does not qualify.5
- Device setting
- The calibration setting at which the interlock prevents the vehicle from starting is 0.025.14
Questions about interlocks in Idaho
How long do you have to have an interlock in Idaho?
For a first DUI, the interlock period is 1 year after your suspension ends. A refusal case also runs 1 year after the suspension ends. ITD describes the administrative suspension route as 1 year starting 10 days after the 90-day suspension ends. For a second or later violation, the length is not stated in the sources we reviewed.2
How much do Idaho's interlock-related state fees cost?
The Restricted Driving Permit application costs $60 (ITD form 3227), reinstatement after an ALS suspension costs $245, and DUI reinstatement costs $285. We don't have vendor pricing for Idaho, so ask any provider for a written quote before you agree to anything.8
Is there help paying for an ignition interlock in Idaho?
Possibly, through the court. An Idaho court may let you use the court interlock and electronic monitoring fund based on financial hardship, and the court makes that call. If money is tight, raise it with the court that ordered your interlock and bring evidence of your finances.12
How do you get an interlock removed in Idaho?
You work with your interlock provider to remove it, for example when you sell the vehicle. The restriction period ends 1 year from the provider's proof of installation, so removing the device on your own schedule does not shorten that period. Ask your provider how the paperwork is handled.13
Can a court waive the interlock requirement in Idaho?
A court may relieve you of the interlock, but only on a clear and convincing showing. Financial hardship alone does not meet that standard. If you think you have grounds, the court that ordered the device is the place to raise it, and a lawyer can explain what evidence it would need.5
Which ignition interlock companies are approved in Idaho?
ITD has certified Smart Start, Draeger US Interlock, Lifesafer Interlock, Guardian Interlock System, Low Cost Interlock, Alcohol Detection Systems, Intoxalock and B.E.S.T. Labs. Each of these manufacturers is certified by the Idaho Transportation Department, so a device from one of them meets the state's certification.9
Related guides
InterlockCompare is independent and doesn't make, sell or install interlocks. Not legal advice.