Who has to install one in Arizona
| Your situation | Interlock | How long | Law |
|---|---|---|---|
| First DUI conviction under the standard 0.08 limit | Required | 12 months for specified first-offense violations | A.R.S. 28-13812 |
| Extreme DUI, BAC 0.15 or higher | Required | Not stated | A.R.S. 28-13812 |
| Extreme DUI, BAC 0.20 or higher | Required, court may extend | Court may extend beyond 12 months | A.R.S. 28-13812 |
| Second DUI within 84 months | Required | Not stated | A.R.S. 28-13813 |
| Documented medical condition that prevents using an interlock | Screening instead | Not stated | A.R.S. 28-33194 |
A judge can order an interlock in other cases too. Your court order or DMV letter is what binds you.
Where each company can install in Arizona
You'll go back to the same company's locations for service for the whole order, so check that one is close to where you live and work before you book.
Locations as each company lists them on its own locator (Smart Start, Intoxalock, LifeSafer, Low Cost Interlock), pulled Oct 2026. Some shops serve more than one company. Alcohol Detection Systems doesn't publish a locator we could read.
Interlock companies approved in Arizona
- In Arizona
- 154 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 40 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,460–$1,510
- App rating
- 2.0 from 113 (App Store)
- In Arizona
- 72 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 34 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,205–$1,355
- In Arizona
- 44 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 37 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,427–$1,552
- App rating
- 1.7 from 899 (App Store)
- In Arizona
- 31 service locations listed
- Nationwide
- On 19 of 44 state lists
- 12 months, filed fees
- $1,215–$1,365
- App rating
- 1.4 from 11 (App Store)
- Nationwide
- On 28 of 44 state lists
ALCOLOCK
Listed as “ALCOLOCK USA”- Nationwide
- On 12 of 44 state lists
- QuickStart
- Alcohol Analytics/Budget IID
- SkyFine USA
From the state's approved list (read it). Use a company on this list, or the install won't count. 12-month figures are lease, install and removal from each company's filed or published fee schedule, not Arizona prices; see how we add them up.
How much an interlock costs in Arizona
Estimated total for your order
Lease times the months you pick, plus install, removal and any enrollment fee, from each company's filed or published schedule (New York filing, Feb 2025; National schedule, Sept 2026; New York filing, Feb 2021; New York filing, Apr 2025). Arizona prices can differ; calibration visits and lockout fees come on top.
If you can't afford it
We haven't found a Arizona assistance program in the statute or on the program page. Ask the court and each company about reduced rates before you install.
Programs in other statesThe rules in Arizona
- License you get
- A second conviction within 84 months means your license is revoked for at least one year. A special ignition interlock restricted driver license is available during that time.3
- Which vehicles
- The department requires a certified interlock on any vehicle you operate, so the requirement follows you and is not limited to a single car.2
- How long it lasts
- The length runs 12, 18 or 24 months depending on the specific violation and whether you have a qualifying prior conviction. The clock starts after any required screening, education or treatment is complete.5
- Credit for time served
- Time you spend with a certified device installed, including time on the special restricted license, can be credited toward the total.5
- Service checks
- Your device has to be checked and calibrated at least every 90 days, so plan your appointments around that schedule.6
- Violations
- Tampering, circumventing the device or failing to provide proof of compliance can extend your interlock restricted license by six months. A reading of 0.08 or higher during an extension also triggers a consequence.6
- Medical condition
- If a documented medical condition keeps you from using an interlock, the department requires monthly alcohol and drug screening instead.4
Questions about interlocks in Arizona
How long do you have to have an interlock in Arizona?
It depends on the violation. The statute summary lists 12 months for specified first offenses and certain repeat violations, 18 months for a violation of 28-1382(A)(2), and 24 months for that same violation with a qualifying prior conviction and certain 28-1383 violations. The time starts after screening, education or treatment is finished.5
Does time on a restricted license count toward my Arizona interlock requirement?
Yes, in part. Arizona credits you for the amount of time a certified ignition interlock device is installed, and the summary of the statute says time spent on the special restricted license can be credited as well. Check with the department on how your own credit is calculated.5
What happens if I tamper with my interlock in Arizona?
Tampering, circumventing the device or failing to provide proof of compliance can extend your interlock restricted license by six months. A reading of 0.08 or higher during an extension also triggers a consequence. Because these steps stack onto the time you already owe, it helps to keep every service appointment.6
How often does an interlock have to be serviced in Arizona?
The device has to be checked and calibrated at least once every 90 days. Since missing proof of compliance can extend your restricted license by six months, scheduling the next visit when you leave each appointment keeps you on track.6
What if I have a medical condition and can't use an interlock in Arizona?
If a documented medical condition prevents you from using an interlock, the department requires monthly alcohol and drug screening instead. The condition has to be documented, so ask your doctor for written records and bring them to the department when you deal with your interlock requirement.4
Related guides
InterlockCompare is independent and doesn't make, sell or install interlocks. Not legal advice.